Femme Fatale But a Dream

Hello! Quick swatch for you today, not super traditional Valentine’s Day fare, but I’m not a super traditional Valentine’s Day kind of person (plans this year: watching Spring once the toddler’s in bed).

This is But a Dream from Femme Fatale’s A Midsummer’s Night Dream collection.
It’s a teal/aqua with pink-shifting-gold shimmer. It is also a thermal polish, though the shift is much subtler than most of the Femme Fatale thermals I have in my collection- cold it is a medium aqua, warm it is a pale one. The formula is smooth and easy to use, but between the thermal pigment and the shimmer it is not a terribly opaque colour. This is four thin coats. I probably could have gotten away with three, but I did four because I wanted to see if I could get it to be opaque when it is warm. I could not- so if you are not okay with visible nail line, this is not a polish for you. I love the colour and shimmer so much, I am willing to forgive it. That said I will probably layer it over a creme aqua like China Glaze’s For Audrey when I wear it next.

I bought this despite my general distaste for VNL because holy balls is it ever pretty AND it is probably as close as I will ever get to Rescue Beauty Lounge’s Aqua Lily. It is such a pretty colour, and I must say even with the translucent-leaning formula, I am perfectly happy with it.

Femme Fatale continues to be one of my absolute favourite polish creators and you can find their polishes on their Australian website, US website, or through these distributors (I’ve personally used Shiro, Live Love Polish and Color4Nails and can happily recommend all of them!) But a Dream is discontinued, but last I checked it was still available at a few of Femme Fatale’s stockists.

The next collection that Femme Fatale is releasing is inspired by the Little Mermaid and hooo boy does it ever look pretty. If I end up buying any of the collection, you’ll surely see it here 🙂
Hope you enjoyed the swatch!

D.

Leave a Reply

